



Joint EPHAR-EACPT Young Investigator Awards in Pharmacology

The Federation of European Pharmacology Societies (EPHAR) and the European Association for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (EACPT) are pleased to announce a joint initiative to recognize projects of excellence in translational research in pharmacology. There will be 2 awards of EUR 1,000 each that will be given in 2025 to young scientists who have published an outstanding research paper in the past two years.

Requirements:

Applicants must:

- Must be under 35 years at the date of deadline
- have published an outstanding paper in 2023 or 2024 as first author;
- have conducted the submitted study in an institution of a country member of EACPT and/or EPHAR;
- be a member of one of the member societies of EPHAR or EACPT

Important note

• the same paper cannot be submitted simultaneously to other EACPT or EPHAR scientific awards calls. If such case is detected, the applicant will be requested to choose a single option before the work is evaluated.

Requirements for submitted publications (inclusion/exclusion criteria)

Submitted publication

- must include original work that is topically relevant to the field of pharmacology.
- is published in a pharmacology journal or contains a statement describing the implications for pharmacology, drug development or therapy.

Application documents (to be provided as <u>a single pdf file</u>):

- **the original publication** (if the paper is accepted but not yet published please send the manuscript and confirmation of acceptance);
- a **one page statement** describing the applicant's specific scientific contribution to the research described in the publication;
- Relevance of the study to the field of pharmacology is the single most important criterion for selection of the awardees.
- A letter, ideally by the last author, explaining i) how the study has advanced the field of pharmacology and ii) the contribution of the applicant to the study (for multi-author publications).

- in the case of shared first authorship, is accompanied by a letter of agreement by the first and last authors
- **proof of age** (copy of personal ID document);
- submit a **proof of membership** to a EPHAR or EACPT member society (signed by an official of the society)





Evaluation:

The YIA evaluation committee is composed of at least three active scientists nominated by the Executive Committees of the EACPT and EPHAR with competitive research grants and publications in the last five years. In case this number cannot be reached in the EPHAR Executive Committee, members from EACPT and EPHAR societies can be recruited. Conflict of interest (COI): YIA evaluation committee members must i) not have co-authorship with the applicant in the last three years, ii) not work at the applicant's institution, and iii) have no other COI.

The evaluation procedure involves three steps including (1) individual assessment, (2) ranking based on individual assessments, and (3) collective discussion.

<u>1.- In the Individual evaluation, each committee member will provide ranks and scores for their</u> independent selection of top three papers (individual assessment), considering the following criteria:

- Significance & novelty (weight: 50%)
- Methodological approach (weight: 40%)
- Presentation of data (weight: 10%).

Scores: scale from 0 (min.) to 10 (max.)

<u>2. Ranking based on individual assessments:</u> An overall ranking is established based on individual ranks (scores: 15 points for first, 10 for second, 5 for third).

<u>3. Collective discussion:</u> The YIA evaluation committee members selects the awardees based on the discussion of the overall and individual rankings.

Personal applications with all required documents (as a single pdf file) must be submitted in electronic form to:

EPHAR:EPHARSecretaryGeneral,Prof.NezahatTugbaDurlu-Kandilci(e-mail:ndurlu@hacettepe.edu.trand ccsecretariat.ephar@segr.it).andEACPT:Secretary:Dr. Joaquin Saez (jsaez@clinic.cat)

Subject of the emails should clearly state:

Joint EPHAR-EACPT Young Investigator Awards in Translational Pharmacology

Deadlines

• Submission of the applications: 12 May 2025

- Outcome: 9 June 2025. To be announced both on the EACPT and EPHAR websites
- Award ceremony: During the EACPT Congress in Helsinki, on June 29th, 2025

Prof. Gerard Rongen Chair of EACPT **Prof. Maria-Jesus Sanz** Chair of EPHAR