Cerrar este cuadro de búsqueda.
Cerrar este cuadro de búsqueda.

XLI National Meeting of the
Spanish Society of Pharmacology

Palma, October 3 to 5 - 2024


Local Organizing Committee:

President: Julia García Fuster (Universitat de les Illes Baleares)
Secretary: Fernando Yáñez Gómez (Universitat de les Illes Baleares)

Rubén García Cabrerizo (Universitat de les Illes Baleares)
Javier Meana Martínez (Universidad del País Vasco)
Olga Valverde Granados (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
Jorge Manzanares Robles (Universitas Miguel Hernández)
Francisco Ciruela Alférez (Universitat de Barcelona)

Scientific Committee:

Antonio Rodríguez Artalejo (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
Ricardo Borges Jurado (Universidad de La Laguna)
Lucía Núñez Fernández (Universidad da Coruña)

Beatriz Artalejo Ortega (Universitat Ramón Llull)
José Manuel Brea Floriani (Universidad de Santiago de Compostela)
Valentín Ceña Callejo (Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha)
Miguel Ángel Huertas Martínez (Universidad de Granada)
Rosario Jiménez Moleón (Universidad de Granada)
Mª del Carmen Montesinos Mezquita (Universitat de València)
Mercè Pallàs Lliberia (Universitat de Barcelona)
María Jesús Sanz Ferrando (Universitat de València)
María Teresa Tejerina Sánchez (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
Francisco Zaragozá García (Universidad de Alcalá)

John F. Cryan,

John F. Cryan is Professor and Chair, Department of Anatomy & Neuroscience, University College Cork and was appointed Vice President for Research & Innovation in 2021.

He is also a Principal Investigator in the APC Microbiome Institute. He received a B.Sc. (Hons) in Biochemistry and PhD in Pharmacology from the National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland and was a visiting fellow at the Department of Psychiatry, University of Melbourne, Australia, which was followed by postdoctoral fellowships at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA and The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California.

He spent four years as a Group Leader in the pharmaceutical industry at the Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research in Basel Switzerland prior to joining UCC in 2005. Prof. Cryan’s current research is focused on understanding the interaction between brain, gut and microbiome and how it applies to stress, psychiatric and immune-related disorders at key time-windows across the lifespan. Prof. Cryan has published more than 600 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters and has a h-index of 162 receiving over 110,000 citations (Google Scholar; March 2024).

He is a Senior Editor of Neuropharmacology and of Neurobiology of Stress and he is on the editorial board of a further 15 journals. He has co-edited four books and is co-author of the bestselling “The Psychobiotic Revolution: Mood, Food, and the New Science of the Gut-Brain Connection” (National Geographic Press, 2017). He has received numerous awards including UCC Researcher of the Year in 2012, the University of Utrecht Award for Excellence in Pharmaceutical Research in 2013, UCC Research Communicator of the Year 2017, and the Datta Prize from FASEB in 2022.

He has been named on the Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher list in 2014 and Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher list each year from 2017 to present.

He was elected a Member of the Royal Irish Academy in 2017 and has served on UCC’s Governing Body for 6 years.

He also received a Research Mentor Award from the American Gastroenterology Association and the Tom Connor Distinguished Scientist Award from Neuroscience Ireland in 2017 and was awarded an honorary degree from the University of Antwerp, Belgium in 2018.

He was a TEDMED speaker in Washington in 2014 and is Past-President of the European Behavioural Pharmacology Society. ‍